ICK HELP PLEASE

lebroc

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 18, 2017
I am new to this and have just got 5 platys and two danios at the moment, we were given them, and they are only in a 20L tank, which I am pretty sure is too small for them, I have worked like crazy over the last three weeks to keep the water safe, and I am just about managing it, until I could afford a new tank to put them in. one of the platys has ich, i cant turn up the heater as it automatically turns off at 25 degrees. I have put salt in the tank, and the platys seems happier to be honest, but the danios i am not so sure about. I just bought a bigger tank to put them in, 200L ...but one ..I dont know if I should move them until they are cured...and two can you tell me if the danios cant take the salt? Would it be better to move them where there is a better water quality, and a heater i can regulate, so less likely to have problems from that point of view? Thank you.

kno4te

MFK Moderator
Staff member
Global Moderator
MFK Member
Dec 24, 2005
USA
Leave them in the original tank and replace the heater. Seems to be not working. I assume it's 25 degrees Celsius. Don't want to cross contaminate another tank. Just my suggestion.

Danios should take salt.

Switch out the heater and slowly increase temp to 89 degrees Fahrenheit which is 31 degrees Celsius. Add salt keep like this for several weeks even after spots disappear (1 week after).

Add a pump or powerhead to increase water churning and promote oxygen in the water.
Keep ur water changes up and repost ur numbers.

Reactions: GamerChick5567

lebroc

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 18, 2017
Thank you, the heater i have in the small tank is set to 25, and automatically switches off at that, it has nothing on it to control the temperature. Yes it is Celsius.

There only seems to be one fish affected, but I am presuming that they all are, as the tank is so small.