Johanna in a community, lots of questions....

DMD123

Bronze Tier VIP
MFK Member
Oct 23, 2009
Lakewood, WA
Not a total noob to pikes, I had a sveni at one point in my fish keeping but now looking at possibly raising out a johanna.

So here is my info and a buch of questions, lol

I have two cichlids already. A large 14” + female pearsei and a 9” + heterospila, both are pretty mellow fish and the more peaceful of the Central Americans. The bottom of the tank has six lower jaw bichirs ranging from 15-18”. The tank is a 8ft long, 24” wide, 300 gallon show tank with 3 FX6’s and a 36w UV.

So now for the questions...

Looking to maybe order 3 baby Johanna from Wet Spot and grow them out. I am looking to keep just one, the best looking of the bunch, the others will be rehomed. What is their growth rate like? Will they grow out well together or is it typical cichlid dominance where one rules and the others get the beat down? If I decided to keep all three would it work?

And the real big question, what is their agression level? Will it be community friendly with my stock?

Any recommendations also appreciated. Thanks guys

Reactions: jaws7777

tlindsey

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2011
Ohio
Not a total noob to pikes, I had a sveni at one point in my fish keeping but now looking at possibly raising out a johanna.

So here is my info and a buch of questions, lol

I have two cichlids already. A large 14” + female pearsei and a 9” + heterospila, both are pretty mellow fish and the more peaceful of the Central Americans. The bottom of the tank has six lower jaw bichirs ranging from 15-18”. The tank is a 8ft long, 24” wide, 300 gallon show tank with 3 FX6’s and a 36w UV.

So now for the questions...