Mbuna's beatiung up my Haps

MikeDean

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jul 20, 2018
Hello folks, I have eight African's in a 75 gallon tank; 5" peacock hybrid x 1, 3" peacock hybrid x 1, 2" peacock hybrid x 1, 4" blueberry x 1, 3" yellow lab x 1, 1" yellow lab x 1, 2" electric blue x 1 and 3" dolphin x 1. I also have two 2" upside cats and two 3" rainbow sharks. I am new to fish keeping and have two questions, anyone who could answer my two questions I would greatly appreciate it. Question 1; My blueberry has secured her territory in a cave, she spends all her time moving small boulders. The electric blue hap is always causing trouble, trying to enter her cave and she chases him catches up to him and rams him into the gravel.
If the electric blue does not go into the cave there is never any trouble, as soon as the electric blue starts chasing my 1" lab or trying to enter the berries cave the berry chases the electric blue and rams him badly. Will this continue? I do not want any fish to die, my question is; should I just give the electric blue away? My other hap never causes trouble, he floats near the top of the aquarium and minds his own business. If the electric continues to bother the 1" lab or entering the berries cave I am afraid the berry may end up killing the electric. My second question is; I have this very strange 5"-6" peacock that just kind of sits in spot all the time at the bottom of the tank ( I got him a week ago ) he never bothers any of the other fish, he seems extremely peaceful. When I woke up this morning one of my rainbows was gone, literally missing. Could this peacock have eaten one of my 2" rainbow's? He seems like such a calm fellow ( all my peacocks are very mellow ) I never ever see him chasing my remaining two rainbow's. Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thank you in advance!

james99

MFK Moderators
Staff member
MFK Member
Mar 3, 2009
savannah,ga