New Lungfish (P. annectens) bacterial infection?

PaleoZoo

Feeder Fish
Jan 12, 2020
I was recommended to monsterfishkeepers for an issue I’m having with my new lungfish.

Problem 1: She has white, whispy stuff on her and it is covering her eyes and it just started this week (around January 7th). New to large, ancient fish so I’m not sure the course of action or what it is.

Problem 2: The tank also is having a hard time adjusting to the new fish and is giving non-zero readings.

Problem (?) 3: She came with a bite (?) mark on her tail. LFS said that is how she came to them (and she had been at the store a really long time, like they were excited that we were the first people to show interest in her-I’m a paleontology PhD student so I nerded-out at the chance of having a living fossil be apart of my family). Just want to make sure it’s healing or if that needs more treatment as well. AF8AC8A8-D747-4DFF-BEB7-00D220B6A1D5.jpeg
A1A76755-4A77-4F17-8507-881549A77845.jpeg
Information:

Cycling: Tank took 2 months to cycle before parameters were perfect. Nitrites were the major issue there. The LFS kept her on hold for me while I cycled (fishless cycle, used some fish flakes for bacteria fodder).

Received from local fish store: December 23, 2019

Fish size: 16ish inches

Tank size: 55 gallon ( yes I know it’s small for a lungfish, we are working on her larger tank)

Parameters: 8.2 pH, .1 ammonia, 0 nitrite, 20 nitrate (aka not great but was worse last week). Chemical tests every other day. 78 degree water from an in-tank heater.

Current treatment: We are doing water changes (smaller amounts daily ~10-30%, larger amounts weekly ~40-50%). Melafix for the bacterial infection (started Jan 10th).

Filtration: We have an external, over the edge of the tank filter rated for the tank size and just added a sponge filter rated for 60 gallons. Once the sponge filter is fully cycled we are replacing the external filter with another sponge so that there is less water turbulence.