New to Saltwater

Kolton13

Redtail Catfish
MFK Member
Oct 3, 2019
Hey, I’m new to saltwater but not fish I actually have 7 freshwater tanks, but I’d like my empty one to be a reef tank it’s currently empty and it’s 5g

here’s what I need:

what kind of coral and decor should I get?
What kind of fish can I get?

I like predatory fish, but don’t think a predator can go in a 5g but if one can let me know

Reactions: tlindsey

twentyleagues

Bronze Tier VIP
MFK Member
Apr 5, 2017
Flint town!
Small tanks are harder to do then larger, especially if you are doing stoney corals. It's amazing how much alk calcium can drop in a short time almost over night. That makes it hard to keep a consistent pH among other things. Salt is kind of the same as fresh in the fact that keeping parameters consistent is key to healthy tank inhabitants. It's easier to learn on a larger tank then move to a "desk" tank later. Certain corals and anemones have stinging cells used to capture prey or kill competing corals so if they come in contact they will kill other corals. Some have extremely long reach that you'd not guess. A 5g tank with a piece of galaxia in it would become a tank with just galaxia in it pretty quickly. Galaxia is a small lps coral that is in essence an encrusting coral. It's polyps are smaller with short tenticals mostly, typically around maybe .5". It can extend those tenticals a foot or more. Those are called sweeper tenticals, they are primarily used to grab morsels of food but when they come in contact with other corals they burn the other coral. It's a pretty common coral to find for sale at a good price and it looks nice.