New to the fish hobby

hunterkevin08

Feeder Fish
Aug 15, 2022
I'm currently new to the fish hobby. I currently got a 100 gallon tank. The dimensions of the tank 36.5Lx26.5Wx25.5H. I'm currently looking to get about 5 shubunkins. I know that goldfish tend to poop a lot that's why I assuming 2 75 Tidal filter and 1 sponge filter or maybe 1 110 Tidal filter and 1 sponge filter or even maybe 2 110 Tidal filter and 1 sponge filter?

tlindsey

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2011
Ohio
I'm currently new to the fish hobby. I currently got a 100 gallon tank. The dimensions of the tank 36.5Lx26.5Wx25.5H. I'm currently looking to get about 5 shubunkins. I know that goldfish tend to poop a lot that's why I assuming 2 75 Tidal filter and 1 sponge filter or maybe 1 110 Tidal filter and 1 sponge filter or even maybe 2 110 Tidal filter and 1 sponge filter?
Welcome aboard
Tbh it's not all about the filtration weekly water changes and filter maintenance will be the key for the healthy fish. A gravel vac during water changes will remove waste from the bottom.

Reactions: Jexnell

hunterkevin08

Feeder Fish
Aug 15, 2022
Welcome aboard
Tbh it's not all about the filtration weekly water changes and filter maintenance will be the key for the healthy fish. A gravel vac during water changes will remove waste from the bottom.
I'm just considering what filter might be best used like I mention above. Already got gravel, api quick start/ stress coat and a siphon python no spill maintenance system.

LBDave

Peacock Bass
MFK Member
Nov 27, 2018
Long Beach
Agree that water changes and vacuuming are key. Also keeping filter clean. May want to consider seachem safe for dechlorinating. Much cheaper in long run.
I assume you know about starting an aquarium and the aquarium cycling?

hunterkevin08

Feeder Fish
Aug 15, 2022
Agree that water changes and vacuuming are key. Also keeping filter clean. May want to consider seachem safe for dechlorinating. Much cheaper in long run.