Please HELP my piranha!!

ELForbes

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Mar 15, 2021
maybe put the old filter back and run in conjunction with new filter until it’s established-

test water with API - grab some prime to make water safe (have to dose every day)

post water param

I should have clarified that better- I no longer have the original filter (it died), so I'd be buying a new version of the original.

But thank you- I did what you said (and two other steps), and he's back to normal now.

Thank you so much for responding!!

Reactions: dr exum

ELForbes

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Mar 15, 2021
Hey E ELForbes ,

I am no expert on RBP's but 17 years old is quite old. Do you think it might be old age causing this problem. This is just purely a guess as I don't know how long they are supposed to live. GL with your fish.

I'm not sure, either, but I've heard they can love between 20-30. Honestly, I was worried it was age, but it had happened so quickly!

Update: he's better now! Replaced the nitrite and ammonia pads then added the liquid recommended.

Thank you for your response!!

Reactions: dr exum

ELForbes

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Mar 15, 2021
Sort out your water parameters. It’s probably the cause. Also, make sure you check your ph and no stray voltage. I lost my rhom at 17 years old due to stray voltage that I caught too late.
I would have never considered a voltage issue!! I'll keep that in mind for the future!!

Update: he's better now! Replaced the nitrite and ammonia pads then added the liquid recommended.

Reactions: tlindsey

ELForbes

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Mar 15, 2021
I think so. Average for most fish is still in the 10-15 year range. Piranhas also fall there, but 25 ish is possible. I’m pretty sure pacus can go even longer.