Preparing to Buy a Stingray

Nathaniel G. Schneider

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Nov 6, 2017
Hi there! I’m preparing to buy a Stingray but need some help. I was hoping someone could point me to the best online store? Also, what questions should I ask before buying?

tlindsey

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2011
Ohio
Thank you. I’m new to this. What freshwater Stingray would you recommend? Also, best place to buy? Questions to ask?

Welcome aboard

I suggest you do more research on Freshwater Rays before deciding if you really want to maintain one. This is one of the species you do not want to make an impulsive purchase on. I'm only trying to help btw.

Nathaniel G. Schneider

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Nov 6, 2017
I am currently setting up. I am purchasing a large aquarium this weekend, and plan on preparing the tank in the coming weeks, before I actually make a purchase. I’m taking my time to get more educated before making the decision.

Reactions: tlindsey

Ray-z

Exodon
MFK Member
Oct 1, 2017
How large is the tank? And, what type of filtration are you planning on getting?
Great questions. Great to hear your getting into rays. I should add though it’s not a good idea to put any ray in a tank that’s only been set up for a few weeks. They need mature tanks. They are very sensitive to ammonia and in a new set up you will definitely get ammonia spikes. Which will kill them.
Get the tank and filteration up and running, buy some other ray friendly fish first and let the tank fully mature for a minimum of a few months before you add a ray.

Just Toby

Fire Eel
MFK Member
Apr 22, 2010
Guildford UK
Not sure where in the world you are but I would go and buy the fish, face to face. You say big tank, are we talking 300 gallons plus? (1000 litres)

Nathaniel G. Schneider

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Nov 6, 2017