protein skimmer? future newbie here!

JonPhillips114

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 15, 2011
Alabama
I know I will probably be shot for asking all this but I dont have a saltwater tank or know much about it (yet!) but I have been thinking about converting one of my smaller tanks just to give it a try with some inverts! if I will be using a hob type filter would I need a protein skimmer? and what exactly do they do? and doesn't a hob or canister filter do the same thing as the skimmer??? also what all do I need to start just to have possibly a starfish or two or a couple shrimp (Not sure what types yet) :screwy: It will be on a 20 Gal tank for now just to try it all out. I am thinking about doing sand and crushed coral mixed substrate, good idea bad idea?
Any help will be greatly appreciated, and sorry again im a future newbie to saltwater lol

DaddyK

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
May 26, 2009
so cal
I'm a saltwater Noob too but ill do my best. Imagine the waves on the beach, How when the waves hit the sand they are all bubbly right? those bubbles are concentrated... err... bad stuff... and that is exactly what the protien skimmer removes. The skimmer will make foam push up a cilinder and into a cup where you can later throw it away.

A hob or canister filter will not do that at all. it will just run water through media.

Do you need a skimmer for a starfish and some shrimp? I have no idea, but it couldent hurt.

Cheers

Pazzoman

Piranha
MFK Member
Apr 5, 2009
New York
I wish you in new york I would sell you a great skimmer.. aqua C skimmer. I highly recommend this skimmer if going for a sump (A Must) grab the aqua C Urchin Pro.

Skimmer in my opinion are needed for reef tank, however will help a lot for any basic marine tank...I have reef.

Any other info needed PM for quicker response as I've been through what your going to be going through lol

However the forums are amazing, with numerous members who will be more then happy to lead you into the right direction.