Pseudotropheus Demasoni Info?

Springtyme

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jun 22, 2005
Bethlehem & Philadelphia, PA
Okay, so this is my first time with these little guys (I've had Oscars and other random cichlids in the past)... I've been reading up on them as much as I can, however I was hoping to find someone on here who has/had them and any additional information you could give me on raising, feeding, and possibly breeding them would be great :) It appears that I have 2 males and 1 female...

piranha45

Fire Eel
MFK Member
Mar 30, 2005
kay
as they mature there's a fair chance that only 1 male will be left out of the 3 you have. To breed, the fish need to be kept in harems; 1 male to 4-6 females. Otherwise the females end up heavily battered or dead.

nothing special in all other regards...

EFeX

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
May 10, 2005
Manila, Philippines
Easy to take care, doesn't need any special attention. I keep 20 pcs. in a 75g tank, occasionally a little fin nipping & territorial disputes but everythings fine. They eat like pigs :), I feed them spirulina flakes & sinking pellets.

CentralMayhem

MONSTER FISH EATER
MFK Member
Mar 30, 2005
San Diego, California
you can definitely tell the difference between demasoni and zebra. demasoni are way brighter blue and nore vivid black. you should have 1 male to several females. typical mouthbrooding mbuna. very pretty fish. no special requirements for breeding.

The TRUST

Blue Tier VIP
MFK Member
Jan 19, 2005
Miami, FL
CentralMayhem said:
you can definitely tell the difference between demasoni and zebra. demasoni are way brighter blue and nore vivid black. you should have 1 male to several females. typical mouthbrooding mbuna. very pretty fish. no special requirements for breeding.
Don't forget to add that demasoni are much smaller.

straitjacketstar

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Jun 27, 2005
Los Angeles, CA
www.instagram.com