Question on setup for stingrays?

kyray

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jul 24, 2005
Irvine, Kentucky
Hello. I have many years of fish keeping experience in both freshwater and marine. I left the hobby about the time skimmers began to catch on and get popular, so my question is, what would be the best setup, (tank size, substrate, filters, ect.,), for stingrays? I haven't decided on freshwater or marine yet either. What is the current availbility of both? Where to buy? What tankmates, if any, for them? I have had a few species of marine rays in the past, but with all the new equipment on the market today, (UV sterilizers, chillers, ect,), just not sure what would be the "best" setup. Your input is appreciated. kyray

rweedon

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jul 23, 2005
pullman washington
go freshwater they are easy... full size needs at least 180 gallons some would say you can jam them in a smaller... filtration is easy 4 large sponge filters with a sand substrate it would be awesome...

Miles

Stingray King
MFK Member
Jul 2, 2005
Spokane, WA
Freshwater Stingrays will be easier to maintan than Salt..

Filtration is up to you. I wouldn't use any sort of filter (sponges) that would take up 'surface' area on the bottom of the tank. I would go with Canisters or Hang-On backs..

Be careful of what sand substrate you use.. Many are abrasive to rays, and can irritate them and lead to sudden death.

180 is a good rough estimate on where to start for -minimum- tank size. The important part of the tank is the dimensions, not the gallonage. Although, the more gallons you work with, the more stable your environment will be..