Royal Whiptails

Artt

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Dec 26, 2018
Australia
Hey guys and girls,

I'm completely new to catfish and I'm changing up one of my tanks. It is about 110 gallon.

I'm thinking of getting 4 or 5 Sturisoma panamense....Is that a reasonable number for my tank?

I'm wondering if anyone else with experience keeping them could suggest some tankmates for them. Not after other cats. I'm thinking something small to medium size not nippy, won't destroy my plants and preferably from SA.

Also any info about care of these guys would be appreciated as there is so much contradictory info online.

kno4te

MFK Moderator
Staff member
Global Moderator
MFK Member
Dec 24, 2005
USA
Had them before and my old groups were 4-6. I had mine with neons, phantom tetras and corys. You can add cichlids but ur plants will be gone likely. Sandy bottom with leaf litter. High flow and soft water is preferred. Will take flakes and algae tabs crushed.

Fishman Dave

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Nov 14, 2015
West Yorkshire
In a 110 with 5 sturisoma I would definitely go corrys and angelfish with nice long giant vallis and a few feature branches and bogwood, maybe a few geophagus too.
Sorry, not exactly what you asked for!

Artt

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Dec 26, 2018
Australia
In a 110 with 5 sturisoma I would definitely go corrys and angelfish with nice long giant vallis and a few feature branches and bogwood, maybe a few geophagus too.
Sorry, not exactly what you asked for!
Not exactly what I asked for but you had me at angelfish. ?

I actually just have a bunch of branches in the setup now so they will stay, I have a dwarf lily taking over half the tank, and so much java fern I regularly pull it out by the handful and just throw it away. It is in desperate need of a clean up.

Reactions: Fishman Dave

Artt

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Dec 26, 2018
Australia