Should/cCould I get an aro ? crash course

jaws7777

Probation Member
Probation Member
Mar 1, 2014
White house 1600 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington
First off sorry for any idiotic questions, I have no experience with aros. Tank is still in the planning stages but i should be placing the order with in the next couple of weeks. The main inhabitants so far are polypterus and maybe a vieja Heterospilus and maybe some clown loaches (not purchased yet) Would any of the following aros work in a 96x36 or 40 x 24 (height)

Silver aro
Black aro
Jardini
leichardti

Only 1 lol

Are jardini really that nasty ?

Whats the difference between a lei and the others ?

StIcKy~RiCe

Redtail Catfish
MFK Member
May 24, 2005
~ Laos ~
if you have no experienced with aro i suggest to start out with cheap silver..they grow fast and cheapest out of all aro.

Reactions: tlindsey

Aquanero

Global Moderator
Staff member
Global Moderator
MFK Member
Feb 16, 2009
New Jersey
An aro will fit in the tank you plan on getting. Jardini are very aggressive and will kill tank mates. Leichardti are very similar in appearance but are a more gracile species not as heavy but generally the same length and not as aggressive. Leichardti are more suitable for a community. Black aerowanas are generally not as prone to drop eye as Silvers are but cost more. The adult size is close maybe slightly smaller than a Silver but only by a couple inches.

My Silver has one drop eye, but it doesn't bother me, others hate it. Silvers are the least expensive and most readily available. Leichardti are the most expensive followed by the jardini and the Black. If you like Asian aros the Jardini might be the closest but the aggression should not be overlooked.

Ihsnshaik

Giant Snakehead
MFK Member
Aug 20, 2015
Windy CIty