(smaller sp.) Suggestions, Suggestions, Suggestions... give me your suggestions!!!

Red Beard

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Mar 29, 2016
AUSTRALIA
Greetings all knowledgeable ones

The time has come to put together a tank I've been toying with for way to many years (well, it's been in the back of my head).
I want to put together a low light catfish tank.

So far I'm really sold on this list:

1 Black Lancer Catfish
1 Spotted Talking Catfish
1 Driftwood Catfish (Trachelyopterus Fisheri)
1 Striped Talking Catfish
1 Featherfin Catfish
1 Hoplo Catfish
5 Asian Bumblebee Catfish
5 Upside Down Catfish
5 Venezuelan Cories
1 undecided L no.

I'm realistic in the fact that some members may need to eventually need to be moved up to aquariums with slightly larger fish down the track or the smaller specimens moved across to one of my planted tanks, but for the initial stocking the sizes max out at 8cm (just over 3"). Obviously fish grow at different rates so I'll need to monitor as I go along.

This will be my first tank utilising a sump which I've already got my hands on, 4ft 120L.
I DO NOT have the tank to start the hard scape yet however as I do not have a circle of real-word fish keeping contacts to bump opinions around with regarding tank size.
I would prefer higher filtration over going overboard with too much space as this will be a pretty docile viewing tank. I've read as much online profiles regarding these fish as I can and am interested in finding out any compatibility issues from real people if you know any?

Also, I've only ever kept Cories from this list. Apart from that my experience is:

Central American Cichlids
Bettas/The Breeding of
What you would call 'standard' small community fish
Low Tech Planted Nano tanks

All a far cry from what I'm wanting to do here.

As per usual, any help would be appreciated!

Theplecoguy

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Mar 22, 2019