Sourcing Weld-on #40 to repair a damaged acrylic tank

stratelespaul

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Oct 17, 2021
Noob here and just read through all 24 pages.
Getting back into the hobby after 8 years without so much as a Betta.
A friend gave me a 187g acrylic (72"Lx20"Wx30"H) with much bottom(base)damage from a botched drill out for a sump.
My plan is now (after reading all this) is to patch the holes inside and out with WO 40 as well as use the pour method on the seams.

The holes are currently patched inside and out with 1/8" plexi using WO 16 and all seems well but, now I want to try the 40 just so I feel a little safer.
Thanks to all who contributed to this very informative thread.

thebiggerthebetter

Senior Curator
Staff member
MFK Member
Dec 31, 2009
Naples, FL, USA
Noob here and just read through all 24 pages.
Getting back into the hobby after 8 years without so much as a Betta.
A friend gave me a 187g acrylic (72"Lx20"Wx30"H) with much bottom(base)damage from a botched drill out for a sump.
My plan is now (after reading all this) is to patch the holes inside and out with WO 40 as well as use the pour method on the seams.

The holes are currently patched inside and out with 1/8" plexi using WO 16 and all seems well but, now I want to try the 40 just so I feel a little safer.
Thanks to all who contributed to this very informative thread.
Welcome! If you will, share your project with all of us in a dedicated thread. We'll be delighted to see, learn from you and with you, and help along per need.

Yes, I'd not be easy with WO16 either. It's too light duty. You don't want 150 gal of water on your floor in 1 minute for sure.

stratelespaul

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Oct 17, 2021
Welcome! If you will, share your project with all of us in a dedicated thread. We'll be delighted to see, learn from you and with you, and help along per need.

Yes, I'd not be easy with WO16 either. It's too light duty. You don't want 150 gal of water on your floor in 1 minute for sure.