Suggestions for 100 gallon

Ash02

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Aug 27, 2019
Texas
Howdy!

In the next few months I will be getting a 5ft 100 gallon tank. I'm exploring multiple stocking options and would like to run some ideas by the experienced folks here.

Option 1:

- Red spot severum
- EBA
- 4 geophagus red heads
- small group of Columbian tetras

Is this too much? Would these fish coexist long term in a 5ft tank?

This will be my first "large" tank, and I am new to cichlids.

Thank you!

Jexnell

Bronze Tier VIP
MFK Member
Jul 17, 2017
PNW
In my opinion I would change out the Geos for pictus cats. This way you only have two cichlids trying to divvy up the space.

Reactions: Zanzag and Ash02

Ash02

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Aug 27, 2019
Texas
In my opinion I would change out the Geos for pictus cats. This way you only have two cichlids trying to divvy up the space.
I do like the look of pictus cats. Would they need anything special in terms of food? Also, do you think geos would work if I left out the EBA?

Jexnell

Bronze Tier VIP
MFK Member
Jul 17, 2017
PNW
I do like the look of pictus cats. Would they need anything special in terms of food? Also, do you think geos would work if I left out the EBA?
I feed my cats this

That may work, my thinking is the EBA is more of a lower tank inhabitant. While the Sev is more mid to upper.
If I was doing Geos I would have them be the only cichlids. Using two different types of tetras and maybe Hatchet fish or a Pink Tailed Chalceus for the upper levels.

Reactions: Niki_up and Ash02

sevs and sajicas for me

Dovii
MFK Member
Feb 10, 2017