Tales of nostalgia

esoxlucius

Balaclava Bot Butcher
MFK Member
Dec 30, 2015
UK
On this forum we have a wide range of ages, both male and female. And an even wider range of knowledge, from complete newbies right up to our esteemed experts (no names because I don't want to embarrass, or more importantly, miss anyone out!)

However, it dosen't matter what level of expertise any of us are at, one simple fact remains. The fact that at one time each and every single one of us knew absolutely nothing about our hobby. Believe it or not, at one point way way back in history, even RD. RD. and duanes duanes knew diddly squat (although in their cases I think divine intervention took place, they were born with fish keeping knowledge, lol).

So, due to the miserable fact that we are stuck in unable to do much at all at the minute, I thought i'd create this thread where we can all have a light hearted trip down memory lane to try and recall our humble beginnings in our wonderful hobby. Some posts may be a bit long winded but hey, we've got plenty of time on our hands to read haven't we!

I'll start off. I'll try and keep mine short because i've waffled enough already. So here goes......

I was around 7 or 8 when my dad bought a small tank for myself, my brother and sister. I recall not being interested at that time though I do remember that every time the tank looked green my dad would rip it down and blitz everything in the sink. I also recall watching the 3 goldfish we had staying on the bottom motionless for hours and hours after each cleaning session. I shudder now thinking about what them fish had to go through.