Toxic Mold

Rui

Candiru
MFK Member
Apr 14, 2005
Calgary, Canada
I was just wondering if anyone has had any problems with Toxic Mold by keeping a fish room or having a large indoor pond. I do notice a black 'smudge' on the walls and in corners, and I RELIGIOUSLY wipe it down clean. Is this the beginnings of Toxic Mold?

I am planning on moving in the next year or so, and I will be *trying* to construct a large indoor pond. I live in Canada, so outdoor ponds keeping tropicals are out of the question. I do want to make it fairly large - probably in the neighborhood of 3-4000 gallons. What can I do to ensure toxic mold doesn't develop?

I will be bugging you guys for plans when I am ready to start. I have never done it before, and I am rather not that handy!!

The TRUST

Blue Tier VIP
MFK Member
Jan 19, 2005
Miami, FL
I think that is mold forming from all the moisture. Unfortunately with all the humidity in the room from the tropical tanks you will eventually have that. Bad bad bad. I dont know how much help a dehumidifier will be, but you can always try that.

guppy

Small Squiggly Thing
Apr 15, 2005
confused, lost, and lonely
There are several "toxic" molds, Fan venting, dehumidifiers, and High spectrum (low uv) lighting all help. When I lived in Oakland I had around 1800g in tanks in a 3 bedroom house, the largest was a 150, most were 20-30g, I had to use all three.

guesswho2005

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
May 10, 2005
Medowlakes,Alaska