What breed?

MrsE88

Bronze Tier VIP
MFK Member
Mar 9, 2017
Anyone good at identifying cat breeds?
I picked up a couple strays from my mom to help keep pests down on the farm. One is a female black and orange mutt. The male I think could be pure bred. But I’m not good at identifying different cat breeds.
To me he looks like a nebelung but it also says they are rare, so..... I’m not sure he is. I’d think being a stray he’d be something more common.

Any guesses?
BE98B14C-DDE0-4BFA-B039-36B1A1634438.png 37BCA8BE-DCC4-4AEE-AD70-0854D5EE4491.png

I brought him in and gave him a bath. I’m still trying to get all the burs out of his fur.

B2A1A76C-21A6-4BC8-96CB-FB3EE4700BF4.jpeg

pacu mom

Goliath Tigerfish
MFK Member
Jun 8, 2006
northern CA
When I did a search on long haired Russian blue cats, nebelung popped up. The Google images for long haired Russian blue all look like your cat.
Russian blue/Himalayan cross? Definitely not crossed with a persian cat :)!

Reactions: MrsE88

MrsE88

Bronze Tier VIP
MFK Member
Mar 9, 2017
Same here. That’s why it was the one a mentioned, but seemed odd to end up as a stray I thought.

Yeah no Persian. Lol

MrsE88

Bronze Tier VIP
MFK Member
Mar 9, 2017
Not that it really matters. He is a complete love bug. The only cat I’ve ever had rub his face on mine. I feel like that’s special. Haha

I’m just sad because my resident cat hates him, and he hates my dogs. I have a boxer and pit. Both are fine with cats, but have high prey drives and will chase anything that runs:/ I’ve been trying to circulate them around the house to get used to each other’s smells.
Oh, and he hates my ferret too. Ugh, wish they would all get along. Lol

pacu mom

Goliath Tigerfish
MFK Member
Jun 8, 2006
northern CA