What is something you wished someone told you when you got into fish keeping

flukeone

Blue Tier VIP
MFK Member
Sep 16, 2019
Mauritius
I've only been fishkeeping seriously for a year (my first 4L aquarium with a goldfish I got one Christmas as a kid doesn't count nor the 5 gallon my grandpa had) and I'm still learning everyday.

What is one thing you wish someone told you when you first got into the hobby?

Mine is quite stupid but fish need air...
Now obviously I knew that. But I did not anticipate the critical necessity of an air pump (or surface agitation) for some fish. I always saw bettas surviving in a cup and assumed all fish can somehow gulp air from the surface. This error cost me 2 blood parrots.... Of course I since learned what is labyrinth organ...

tlindsey

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2011
Ohio
I've only been fishkeeping seriously for a year (my first 4L aquarium with a goldfish I got one Christmas as a kid doesn't count nor the 5 gallon my grandpa had) and I'm still learning everyday.

What is one thing you wish someone told you when you first got into the hobby?

Mine is quite stupid but fish need air...
Now obviously I knew that. But I did not anticipate the critical necessity of an air pump (or surface agitation) for some fish. I always saw bettas surviving in a cup and assumed all fish can somehow gulp air from the surface. This error cost me 2 blood parrots.... Of course I since learned what is labyrinth organ...
[/QUOT
All fish weren't compatible.

Canoeist

Exodon
MFK Member
Sep 12, 2019
Since I have kept filtration to 10 times the gallons of the tank problems have been minimum at worst. Multiple filters as well so when one is cleaned the others remain established.
Preheat your change water to avoid shock.
Select fish from quality establishments and avoid foods that might introduce disease/parasites/aggressive behavior.
Plenty of research.