Welcome to MonsterFishKeepers.com

The members of this forum have come together to share our knowledge and experiences of fish keeping. We want to answer your questions, offer advice and fill the galleries with pictures of the fish we have all grown to love.

We are a unique community of Fish Keepers who seriously take our hobby to extremes and the NEXT level. The majority of our fish collections include RARE & EXOTIC Species of all sizes, BIG FISH with BIG APPETITES and BIG TANKS. It's not easy for most people or other "regular" fish keepers to understand why we maintain this type of collection and spare no expense on this fascinating hobby.

Hopefully, through this site and discussion forums we can encourage the next generation of Monster Fish Keepers to have the same passion and love we have for the hobby and our Monster Fish .

As one of the founding members, I personally invite you to register and join us today. Currently you are viewing this site as our guest which only gives you limited access to view most discussions, articles and photo galleries.

Registration is FREE and very easy! When you register, you'll have instant access to....

  • • Post and participate in discussions about your passion for fish keeping
  • • Have your own Photo Gallery and the ability to upload your images
  • • View and comment on the gallery
  • • Participate in MFK contests, promotions, and discounts
  • • Use of private messaging to communicate with other community members


  • We're constantly striving to improve our community to help make your Monster Fish Keeping hobby fulfilling and interesting. Comments are welcome.


    WE ARE MONSTER FISH KEEPERS!

    -MFK STAFF



    Will anaerobic pockets form in loose thin layer of substrate?

    Discussion in 'General Aquaria Discussion' started by philipraposo1982, Feb 16, 2017.

    1. philipraposo1982

      philipraposo1982 MFK Members

      Real Name:
      Philip
      Joined:
      Feb 21, 2016
      Messages:
      659
      Likes Received:
      388
      Trophy Points:
      72
      Gender:
      Male
      Location:
      Cambridge, Ontario
      Last Seen:
      Today at 9:37 AM
      I just removed all my substrate to add some new stuff. only did a very thin layer about .5"

      I had a fine sand mix before and it was forming pockets quickly and I didn't want to have to worry about it. The new stuff in a much larger grain gravel type substrate. I am pretty sure it won't be an issue now but I just wanted to hear some other opinions.

      Thanks.
       
    2. philipraposo1982

      philipraposo1982 MFK Members

      Real Name:
      Philip
      Joined:
      Feb 21, 2016
      Messages:
      659
      Likes Received:
      388
      Trophy Points:
      72
      Gender:
      Male
      Location:
      Cambridge, Ontario
      Last Seen:
      Today at 9:37 AM
      Here is some photos of it now for reference

      20170216_162837.jpg

      20170216_130035.jpg

      20170216_125903.jpg
       
    3. Yuki Rihwa

      Yuki Rihwa MFK Members

      Real Name:
      結城
      Joined:
      Jan 22, 2015
      Messages:
      2,250
      Likes Received:
      1,018
      Trophy Points:
      149
      Location:
      Asia
      Last Seen:
      Thursday at 5:04 PM
    4. philipraposo1982

      philipraposo1982 MFK Members

      Real Name:
      Philip
      Joined:
      Feb 21, 2016
      Messages:
      659
      Likes Received:
      388
      Trophy Points:
      72
      Gender:
      Male
      Location:
      Cambridge, Ontario
      Last Seen:
      Today at 9:37 AM
      I guess I should buy a gravel vac, I never used one previously because the sand I used before was super lightweight and would just get all sucked up.

      Before that I had a planted tank and didn't need to vac the substrate.

      I guess no matter how thin and coarse the substrate is you still gotta vacuum it right?
       
    5. viejafish

      viejafish MFK Members

      Real Name:
      Joined:
      Jan 31, 2013
      Messages:
      642
      Likes Received:
      83
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Location:
      Northeast
      Last Seen:
      Today at 7:23 AM
      You are doing the right thing. Unless you want to grow plants, a thin substrate barely enough to cover the bottom is adequate. Aerobic BB live only in the top 1/2 inch and any thicker substrate will only create anaerobic pockets. Having a thin substrate is better than bare bottom because it makes the fish feel safer, and increases the total surface area for BB many times. I prefer gravel size around 1 mm, large enough to hide detritus which I can vac out in WC, yet not too small to be sucked out.
       
    6. J. H.

      J. H. MFK Members

      Real Name:
      pyh
      Joined:
      Oct 14, 2016
      Messages:
      478
      Likes Received:
      283
      Trophy Points:
      72
      Location:
      The Glorious State of New York
      Last Seen:
      Today at 9:45 AM
      The bigger your grain size, the deeper you can go before you need to worry. Look up DSB arguments for saltwater. Saltwater i worse as it holds less oxygen, but the idea is the same and they do serious testing and have actual safe deoth numbers for different grain sizes
       
    7. philipraposo1982

      philipraposo1982 MFK Members

      Real Name:
      Philip
      Joined:
      Feb 21, 2016
      Messages:
      659
      Likes Received:
      388
      Trophy Points:
      72
      Gender:
      Male
      Location:
      Cambridge, Ontario
      Last Seen:
      Today at 9:37 AM
      Good to know, thanks everyone.
       
    8. SK13

      SK13 MFK Members

      Real Name:
      Sumit
      Joined:
      Jan 13, 2017
      Messages:
      43
      Likes Received:
      10
      Trophy Points:
      8
      Gender:
      Male
      Last Seen:
      Wednesday at 9:33 PM
      With a thin layer of bigger grain-size gravel, I do not think air pockets will be an issue.
       
    9. philipraposo1982

      philipraposo1982 MFK Members

      Real Name:
      Philip
      Joined:
      Feb 21, 2016
      Messages:
      659
      Likes Received:
      388
      Trophy Points:
      72
      Gender:
      Male
      Location:
      Cambridge, Ontario
      Last Seen:
      Today at 9:37 AM
      Thanks for your input.

      Either way, with the sand fully out of the equation now, I can easily move and clean the substrate with no issues.

      It's just thick enough to not have the glass bottom show. I am thinking of using a turkey baster during water changes to get all the mulm up and into the water column. Should be easy enough.
       
    10. J. H.

      J. H. MFK Members

      Real Name:
      pyh
      Joined:
      Oct 14, 2016
      Messages:
      478
      Likes Received:
      283
      Trophy Points:
      72
      Location:
      The Glorious State of New York
      Last Seen:
      Today at 9:45 AM
      You may have some issues with your fish digging down too the glass and leaving you bare spots, even with gravel. I had this happen with 1" of gravel in a goldfish tank.
       

    Share This Page

    zoomed.com
    hikariusa.com
    aqaimports.com
    Store