Induced dwarfism in freshwater stingrays ??

tiercelr

Feeder Fish
Mar 28, 2012
Mexico City
Hi, its possible to induce dwarfism in freshwater stingrays if they are keeped in small aquariums as may be one of 100 liters if the freshwater stingrays are started living there since they have a teacup size ??

The purpose is to maintaining them with a size of less than 12 up to 15 inches diameter or less even if they may reach from 3 to 5 years old living inside of such a 100 liters tank. The purpose is forcing them to stay indefinitelyment in a dwarf size even if they have reached their adult stage.

Anyone have tried successfulyment this with the freshwater stingrays ?? Thanks in advance for your replies. Regards.

jstavis

Candiru
MFK Member
Mar 18, 2009
Madison, WI
I'm not an expert, but I would say that this is a bad, bad idea. Your stingray will stay small, but only because it will die young.

Zfishies

Fire Eel
MFK Member
Apr 5, 2010
Milky Way Galaxy,
No exp with fw rays but I know a fact dwarfism is a gene not something artificial you can make or be done to create it. Your fish will either die from over loads of no2, no3 and ammonia probably all 3. If not then it will die from its organs growing to large for its body and might have organ failure

Sent from my iPad using MonsterAquariaNetwork app

Hondacrx2

Gambusia
MFK Member
Dec 17, 2010
Pa
Hi, its possible to induce dwarfism in freshwater stingrays if they are keeped in small aquariums as may be one of 100 liters if the freshwater stingrays are started living there since they have a teacup size ??

The purpose is to maintaining them with a size of less than 12 up to 15 inches diameter or less even if they may reach from 3 to 5 years old living inside of such a 100 liters tank. The purpose is forcing them to stay indefinitelyment in a dwarf size even if they have reached their adult stage.

Anyone have tried successfulyment this with the freshwater stingrays ?? Thanks in advance for your replies. Regards.