Im new to the sump thing! Please help me!

lunker65

Gambusia
MFK Member
Mar 17, 2013
Virginia
ok so i did a little bit of research on the type of overflow that i have and it seems that i have kinda a diy coast to coast system. it is basicly a long pvc pipe that runs most of the length of the tank that has slits cut in the top. im not really a fan of the look but i am trying to figure out how to maybe conceal it or possibly redo the system. i like the coast to coast idea ind would like to try to keep it. is there possibly some paint that will be ok to be in the tank that will stick to pvc?

redtailcatfish88

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
May 24, 2013
nj
Theirs a paint that I use krylon fusion its spray can from walmart for 2$ let dry for 48 hours and its fine. I love ot

David R

Blue Tier VIP
MFK Member
Apr 26, 2005
New Zealand
Some pictures would really help us figure out what you've got and how to set it up!

As for the size of the sump, the design will partially determine the size, and also the amount of "skim" that the sump needs to hold when the pump switches off. The skim will be determined by the footprint of your tank and how much water sits above the height of the overflow with the pump running, so a wide low tank with a big footprint will have more "skim" than a tall narrow tank of the same volume (assuming all other factors are equal).