Big tank vs Small tank

kendragon

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Mar 23, 2009
What tank size do you feel is easier to manage as far as water quality?

I feel that tanks under 300g are harder mainly because cichlas are messy fish and without the volume your filter can't miss a beat. With larger tanks I feel they are more forgiving. Water changes still exist but cichlas are less likely to get sick.

What do you think?

wednesday13

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Mar 2, 2008
The deep south
Bigger the better/easier to an extent. 1,000 and up are far easier to maintain than 300-500. I have to disagree tho as i think tanks 10-200 gal. Are pretty easy to maintain.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using MonsterAquariaNetwork App

tomka123

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Jan 5, 2013
burlington, nc
In regards to larger tanks I am new to them. I have some questions about what to expect. I have a 300G black sand on the bottom, so I have been cleaning with a siphon once a week & it seems easy enough because most of the crap gathers in the 2 bottom corners. The tank & the wet/dry (50G) have been doing just fine. What other cleaning should I expect to be doing and how often (i.e. how often will I have to clean decorations & side walls of the acrylic? I ask because with smaller tanks it is pretty easy, but it seems like a much bigger job with the larger ones. Plus, with the acrylic top & the height of my tank being 30 inches, it is tough to really get down in there to clean it!

gangster

Arapaima
MFK Member
Apr 17, 2008
mountains
I'd have to agree w/ ya there Ken. But it also depends on stocking levels.

HULON

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
May 14, 2009
in the now!!
What tank size do you feel is easier to manage as far as water quality?

I feel that tanks under 300g are harder mainly because cichlas are messy fish and without the volume your filter can't miss a beat. With larger tanks I feel they are more forgiving. Water changes still exist but cichlas are less likely to get sick.

What do you think?