Albino Polypterus dead suddenly

Nickl117

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jul 17, 2017
Hey all, I'm relatively new to the fish keeping hobby and i have 2 bichirs: one ornate and one albino. The albino was dead this morning after eating and swimming all last night as it normally did. It had red coloring in its gills and a tongue-like protrusion coming out of its mouth. I have a 30 gal community with a dwarf gourami, a ghost knife fish, some neon tetras, Cory cats and a picture catfih (all fish are relatively small) and the ornate bichir is around an inch and a half. Parameters seem normal. Any help would be appreciated.

Angelphish

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Dec 13, 2015
Georgia
Hey all, I'm relatively new to the fish keeping hobby and i have 2 bichirs: one ornate and one albino. The albino was dead this morning after eating and swimming all last night as it normally did. It had red coloring in its gills and a tongue-like protrusion coming out of its mouth. I have a 30 gal community with a dwarf gourami, a ghost knife fish, some neon tetras, Cory cats and a picture catfih (all fish are relatively small) and the ornate bichir is around an inch and a half. Parameters seem normal. Any help would be appreciated.
Sell/Give away the Polypterus and knife fish. Both get two feet long, and your tank is only three feet long and a foot wide.

Nickl117

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jul 17, 2017
Going to buy bigger tank as they grow, next tank purchase is a 75 gal and so on. For now however both polyp and knife fish don't add up to more than 4 inches combined. Any other reason my fish could have died?

Angelphish

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Dec 13, 2015
Georgia
Going to buy bigger tank as they grow, next tank purchase is a 75 gal and so on. For now however both polyp and knife fish don't add up to more than 4 inches combined. Any other reason my fish could have died?
Is your tank cycled? The biggest cause for fish dying in new tanks is that the tank isnt cycled.