Algae takeover

clm08k

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Oct 31, 2016
image.jpg Hey all. I'm very new to planted tanks. Had my current set up for 5-6 months now. It's a 55g with Aquaclear 110 HOB, and a sunblaster 4foot T5 bulb.

Temp :80. F
Ph 7.5
Am: O
Nitrites: O
Nitrate: 15-20ppm
Phosphate: tested and the test turned grey?
Current stock is: 3 bichirs and 4 giant danios.
I do a 30-50% water change 1x a week. Lately been closer to 40/50.

Plants: amazon swords, two types of Vals.
Everything started going south once my water lettuce died. Then all my plants started getting spots of brown/black on them. Now there is also green algae and every leaf has spots or film on it . I'm having to scrub the plants at least once a week. But still can't get all of it off. Then it comes back a few days later.

. Maybe the light is on too much? around 8 hours a day. Should I be supplementing? I occasionally add "synthesis" and "envy" supplements by aquavitro (sea Chem line). The gravel is PFS and petco black sand.

Here are some pictures of the algae:
IMG_4038.JPG
IMG_4042.JPG
IMG_4049.JPG
IMG_4046.JPG
The del says:" please help." I miss having green plants.

skjl47

Probation Member
Probation Member
MFK Member
May 16, 2011
Tennessee
Hello; Two things come to mind. First the amazons are heavy root feeders. They need some sort of plant food at the roots. I use to use "plant tabs" but can not find them now. I have tried flourish tabs the last couple of years and find them better than nothing. So some sort of solid fertilizer stuck into the substrate near the roots.

Second is that normally I would suggest a reduced lighted period but eight hours is fairly short already. Not familiar with the
sunblaster 4foot T5 bulb.
I am tempted to suggest a longer lighted period but am not sure about that. I run my lights on a longer cycle but may have less lumens.

Reactions: clm08k and tlindsey

clm08k

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Oct 31, 2016