Beginner in need of help building a tank for Catsharks

Xgpmcnp

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Aug 18, 2016
Quebec
So recently I've started to gather information on shark ownership, and I realise I am not ready at ALL to own a shark. But instead of giving up I decided to get more information so I can own one and know how to take correct care of one.

Since I'm a complete beginner in not only shark ownership, but also fish ownership, I would love it if anyone on this forum could share any kind of information about the hobby.

For exemple, I'm looking into Chain Catsharks but is there other kinds of Catsharks that are more suitable? Are Catsharks too hard for a beginner? I'd rather have a shark that's not too inactive which is why I'm looking into Catsharks, but the pet's safety is much more important than my entertainment.

I've read the gallon size of a tank is about 400 gallon, is that right? I'm thinking of owning either a single shark or 2 sharks, a male and female, in the hope of getting eggs. But shark husbandry is more of something I'm planning in the next 5-10 years and not so much a short-term idea, so starting with a smaller tank would be optimal for me.

I've also read the water temperature is about the low 60 Farenheits, or 15-16 Celcius. Is that information correct? What kind of cooler would I need for that, and is it costy?

For the food, I've read about fishes and shrimps but seeing videos of them being fed (they're just too adorable, I can't help look at those videos) suggest they eat some sort of snowflakes.

Since Catsharks are saltwater animals, would it be hard to get my hand onto some saltwater considering I do not live near the ocean? How often would their tank need their water replaced? I also don't live very close to anywhere that would sell saltwater I believe so if it needs change daily that would pose a big problem.