Black arowana question

Hao

The Ancient
MFK Member
Oct 17, 2008
They can but the chances are extremely slim. I've probably only seen a few with drop eye over the past 15 years.

Trouser Bark

Dovii
MFK Member
Nov 7, 2022
I've been keeping black arowana for roughly 50 years and have never had D/E in any of the examples I've seen. Anecdotal evidence suggests that Asian breeders have purposefully bred genetically defective silvers for decades, likely because they've identified breeders that are prolific and it's easier to make up bogus stories about 'yeah, your arowana looked downward too often while searching for food' or some other BS than it is to find genetically ideal fish pairs that are also often randy.

Silver arowana are genetically predisposed to known common faults like drop eye due exclusively to irresponsible breeding practices. Once black arowana have been bred in captivity to the same degree you may suspect that they too will have some similarly heinous problem as long as they come from the same Asian fish farms.

Hao

The Ancient
MFK Member
Oct 17, 2008
I've been keeping black arowana for roughly 50 years and have never had D/E in any of the examples I've seen. Anecdotal evidence suggests that Asian breeders have purposefully bred genetically defective silvers for decades, likely because they've identified breeders that are prolific and it's easier to make up bogus stories about 'yeah, your arowana looked downward too often while searching for food' or some other BS than it is to find genetically ideal fish pairs that are also often randy.

Silver arowana are genetically predisposed to known common faults like drop eye due exclusively to irresponsible breeding practices. Once black arowana have been bred in captivity to the same degree you may suspect that they too will have some similarly heinous problem as long as they come from the same Asian fish farms.