Do African and South american cichlids can cross breed?

FESHMAN

Polypterus
MFK Member
Sep 14, 2015
Q8
I'd say no because we haven't seen any hybrids, with many people mixing them together and still nothing to be seen. I also think that the different breeding behaviour of the fish might be another factor. Many African species are mouthbrooders, while south american mostly are egg guarding.

Now I'm not a scientist so I might be wrong, just my opinion

Kittiee Katt

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Aug 1, 2015
My House!
I'd assume not based on how far apart they've evolved. But I could be wrong.

duanes duanes Stanzzzz7 Stanzzzz7 I'd assume one of these guys could answer.

Maybe even Hendre Hendre , he's gotten quite knowledgeable since he first joined. :)

Stanzzzz7

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Sep 26, 2015
Uk
It's highly doubtful.
Most of the commonly kept Africans are mouth brooders and also use egg spots on anal fin as part of their breeding strategy.
I can't think of many South Americans that do this.
There are mouth brooders from s/a like some geophagus and hero's species for example.
I have never heard of any Africans or South American cichlids crossing and would be extremely surprised to hear that they ever had.
Both have evolved in polar opposite pH and water values and most have very different breeding strategies.

Hendre

Bawitius
Staff member
MFK Member
Jan 14, 2016
South Africa
They will be too genetically different to spawn IMO. Especially given the fact that Africa and South America split about 180 million years ago.

When you look at phylogenetics, cichlids are insanely diverse. So while they are technically related, most fish can only interbreed within a genus, so most tropheus will interbreed or parachromis will interbreed for example. It can sometimes be between genera in a few cases but the fish involved would have to be closely related.