Do Certain Plecos Poop More Than Others?

Blakewater

Aimara
MFK Member
Apr 27, 2018
Hey ladies and gents. So, first off, let me just lead with the fact that I am a newb when it comes to plecos. I know the basic care and requirements, but thats about it. That being said, I do enjoy how some look and so recently I purchased an Adonis and Royal for my tank as a bottom region swimmer.

After about 2-3 weeks, two things have become very apparent:

1. I enjoy plecos and would ideally like to add more such as an L014, etc.

2. The amount of waste my Royal Pleco produces should be defined as a crime against nature because the poop load produced is IMMENSE.

What spurs my question is that comparatively, my Adonis (who is of equal size) seems to produce a much more manageable amount of waste. So I was curious if certain plecos naturally produce larger amounts of poop than others and, if so, what species tend to produce less that still attain sizes of 12"+.

It is not so much that the waste is an issue for water quality as much as I would just prefer to not have to worry about it if I am adding more plecos as they get bigger.

Thanks!

Reactions: Fishman Dave

fishhead0103666

Alligator Gar
MFK Member
May 14, 2018
youtu.be
I’ve always heard that panaques produce a lot more waste than other plecos, royals are a panaque.

BIG-G

Goliath Tigerfish
MFK Member
Dec 12, 2005
NC
I agree with fishhead0103666 fishhead0103666 panaque plecos have a fairly fast moving digestive tract.
I’ve read studies that have determined that some panaque species can pass food from ingestion completely through their digestive track In as little as 4 hours.
I believe that they get most of their nutrients not from the wood itself but from the biofilm that forms on the wood.
I would say that because the amount of nutrition from this is relatively low compared to actual volume that is ingested paired with a fast digestive track means that they as a side effect produce a lot of waste.