HELP! FH can't swim after force feed with epsom salt solution

Fr21

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Sep 3, 2016
Hi guys, I'm freaking out right now. My first time in this forum

My flowerhorn got hex because I saw some stringy white poop that is very long. He has not been eating and I wanted to give a 3% dose of epson salt with some food in it via 1 mL syringe. My flowerhorn is about 7 inches and this is my first time doing this.

He was swimming slowly fine and have no bouyancy issue before this proceedure.

I got the fish out and proceed to gently push the syringe into his mouth and wait for him to breath and push it in. but I heard some sand paper noises while pushing it down, thought it was it stomach and decided to injected the epsom salt solution. since he was a big fish, the whole syringe should be in his stomach area (90% of the syringe got inside of his mouth)

Note: my sister was with me and she told me afterward that there are some bubble in the syringe, I didn't notice (stupid me)

I put him back in the water and saw that he was having trouble with swimming. like he would do 360 and then go upside down. Now I'm wedging him between the rock and the tank laying in that spot.

Now I'm asking you guys, it is normal for him to swim like this after the procedure? did I puncture his swim bladder while going down his stomach? or did the bubbles in the syringe is now in his stomach causing him to swim like this? I'm very nervous and anxious that I can't type right, so sorry if my grammar is really bad.

Please enlighten me.

Fr21

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Sep 3, 2016
Updates, after 30 minutes of agonizing anxiety strike, he can balance himself now.
Holy sushi, that is scary. But he does flip his tail up sometime, but look like he can manage and doesn't do a cartwheel every single time now.