Making sure I do this right.

markymark642

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Dec 7, 2022
I'm pretty new to this and I want to make sure I do it right the first time. Everywhere I go online I find different answers. Anyways, I am planning to put 2 blood parrots in my 75gallon tank along with 2 firemouths.
Will the grow too large and become cramped or is that a decent set up?
Thank for any help.

Stephen St.Clair

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Jul 2, 2017
A lot depends on how much swimming area is provided. Scape your tank in such a way as to allow territorial boundaries as well as creating open areas. Not an easy task.
Btw, it's been my experience that Firemouths do better in small groups rather than solo or pairs. IMO, A display of Firemouths & Swordtails would look pretty sharp.

Jexnell

Bronze Tier VIP
MFK Member
Jul 17, 2017
PNW
I had, if I remember right, nine Firemouth in a 6ft 125gal. The males each staked a claim on some territory. The females in a group would swim around from territory to territory checking each one out and it's corresponding male.
Way more interspiecies goings on than I ever guessed for a fish considered "common"
20190621_213701.jpg20190621_213436.jpg20190621_213305.jpg20190621_213218.jpg20190621_213203.jpg20190620_203013.jpg

markymark642

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Dec 7, 2022
A lot depends on how much swimming area is provided. Scape your tank in such a way as to allow territorial boundaries as well as creating open areas. Not an easy task.
Btw, it's been my experience that Firemouths do better in small groups rather than solo or pairs. IMO, A display of Firemouths & Swordtails would look pretty sharp.
Thanks for your reply.
I am kind of stuck on blood parrots. Do you think maybe 2 in a 75 gallon is maxed out? Or can I have a couple tank mates and if so, what do you recommend?

Stephen St.Clair

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Jul 2, 2017
I think you will have room for tankmates. Although BP's can be aggressive, their bark is far worse than their bite.