My Cherax Snowden (Cherax Holthuisi) behavior

Sphynxi

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Nov 26, 2015
Hi Guys, I'm new to MFK and yes, I already do have a question ;)

Firstly I'd like to mention that english isn't my native language, so some expressions of and for our beloved Animals might be different and I might not know them. Thats the reason i might not found my answer with the Search function. So if there is already a similar Question, sorry about that.

Okey, I'm worried about my Crayfish (probably without any reason). It's a Cherax snowden (since 2015, before that, it was Cherax Holthuisi. But that is confusing too. The Seller didnt know anything. It was labelled as Cherax Sp.), orange tip. It is my first Crayfish, so every tiny thing is freaking me out, since those simple things are mostly not mention in books 'n stuff.

I was wondering if it's behavior is normal. I'm speaking about his tail. When he is walking around, searching for food and eating, he's like on the first two pictures. But if he goes into one of the caves (he got 3 natural caves and 2 selve digged ones), he often curles his tail like on the third picture. Is this normal? Sometime he stucks hes head into a hole-like spot like in the third picture.

Crayfish are very rare here, so I can't really rely on experience.

He is about 10cm (4") without the claws. I got him since about 2.5 weeks. He is eating.

About the tank:

30 Gallons (80cm long / about 31")
I got between 26° (78.8f) 29 (84f) cause the light is pretty heating up.
no aditional heating

Filtration:
Eheim 2026 Professional II (not on full power)

CO2 fertilization

Plants that he is eating:
Hemianthus Callitrichoides
Plants that he doesnt care about:
Ludwigia Repens
Anibuas barteri nana
cryptocoryne
Ophiopogon japonicus nana
Cabomba carollniana
Labelia cardinalis mini
Cryptocoryne Undulatus

No2 - not measurable, so under 0.3
PH - 7.8
GH 14

Tank mates:
30 blue Neons

Some Sakura Shrimps
Some Red Cherry Shrimps