Need help stocking 65 gal

MannyJs1

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 4, 2019
Hey guys, this is my first post on here, so if I'm doing anything wrong let me know (even though I've spent multiple hours on the website). Anyways, I was wondering what kind of cichlid I should get for my 65 gallon tank. The dimensions of the tank are 48x18x24, and in 6 months I'll have a 6ft 125 gallon that the cichlid will be moved into. I'm into big, aggressive, colorful, active, "wet pet" (such as parachromis). I was checking out the motas, freddys, black nasty, bleekeri/polleni, even thinking about dovii (yes he/she would be living in a 200+ eventually). I've been into fish for 10 years i keep my water really clean, I'm just new to cichlids and the big aggressive ones caught my attention! Any help/input is appreciated :)

Reactions: BichirKing

Gourami Swami

MFK Moderators
Staff member
MFK Member
Jul 13, 2006
NJ
Hello!
If your tank is indeed 48x18x24, that is a 90 gallon, not a 65. Great size to start a large cichlid out in. You could get pretty much whatever cichlid species you want, as long as you are willing to eventually get it a large enough tank, which it sounds like you are.
Some of my favorites are members of the paratheraps/vieja complex. There are many species which grow large and colorful, and are very interactive.
Here is an old video of one of my vieja in a 125 gallon, which he shared pretty well with tough, smaller cichlids.
Some stand-out species from this complex, to me, are zonatum, argentea, breidohri, guttalatum (fish in the video) and regani. Though, every fish in the genus is beautiful in it's own way, and a large male of any of them will have the attitude your looking for.
Parachromis are great too! Large motaguense are very impressive, always wanted a big male.
Whichever species you choose, I would get 5 or 6 juveniles and grow them out together, then sell all but the alpha male, to get the best "wetpet" possible

MannyJs1

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 4, 2019