Newb to freshwater plants.

Mattcomptonassvanhorn

Candiru
MFK Member
Jun 25, 2005
Wichita,Ks
Im lookin to start a 10 gallon planted tank and I am a total newbie when it comes to freshwater plants. I have kept saltwater plants before but never freshwater. A little help to get me started?

AnDr3w

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Sep 8, 2006
Davie, FL
You need C02. I did a DIY C02 with a soda bottle, 4 cups warm water, 1/4 tsp of yeast, and 2 cups sugar. I did that last night. Then you need a strong light. (I dont have one but I am going to buy one soon) I dont know anything other then that.

Oh yea!

Some people use plant substrates.

WyldFya

Baryancistrus demantoides
MFK Member
Dec 23, 2005
Moscow, ID
AnDr3w;833562;833562 said:
You need C02. I did a DIY C02 with a soda bottle, 4 cups warm water, 1/4 tsp of yeast, and 2 cups sugar. I did that last night. Then you need a strong light. (I dont have one but I am going to buy one soon) I dont know anything other then that.

Oh yea!

Some people use plant substrates.

You don't need to inject co2 for many plants. A strong light is not necessarily correct, rather a light in the right spectrum, and with enough watts for the plant you have. A good plant substrate or good ferts is more important than either injecting co2, or a strong plant light.

Read the stickies, there is one up there specifically for this question. Read the thread, and then narrrow down your question from the broad "how do I set up a planted tank?" to specific questions.

C J Castle

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 1, 2007
US