Please help ID my discus thanks!

pet_aquatics

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jul 22, 2021
Hi all, I'm new to discus fish keeping, had previously and still are keeping other fresh water fishes like arowana and goldfish. I've decided to take the plunge into discus keeping and bought a few from my LFS (I know its seen as an evil in the west if I don't get them from a breeder but I've known the store owner for years and he specializes in discus, goldfish and flowerhorn imports only). The trouble is I cannot seem to identify their strains per say as I got them from a "random fry tank" at around 1.5 inches a month back and they are now 3-4 inches. I was hoping the experts could help me in that. Thanks in advance and happy fishkeeping! ^v^

IMG20210722210354[1].jpg

IMG20210722210338[1].jpg

Reactions: Caveden and robmcd

pet_aquatics

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jul 22, 2021
Looks like checkerboard, snakeskin, and red melon. Hope the melon colors up more as it grows
Hi thanks for your reply ! Been wondering around forums and discus store sites and I can't help but wonder it could perhaps be a blue Turk(instead of checker), snakeskin and some no strain discus (instead of melon). So is it possible that some discus do not have strains? Should I also be concerned that my snakeskin is showing its pattern at 3 inches ? Since I read that juvenile fish are not suppose to show great pattern/ colours unless they've been treated with hormones. ><

phreeflow

Goliath Tigerfish
MFK Member
Nov 19, 2007
SoCal
Hi thanks for your reply ! Been wondering around forums and discus store sites and I can't help but wonder it could perhaps be a blue Turk(instead of checker), snakeskin and some no strain discus (instead of melon). So is it possible that some discus do not have strains? Should I also be concerned that my snakeskin is showing its pattern at 3 inches ? Since I read that juvenile fish are not suppose to show great pattern/ colours unless they've been treated with hormones. ><