please help me with my aquarium design its driving me insane!

which method should i go with?

• 10mm thick glass plywood bottom no brace

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 12mm thick glass plywood bottom no brace

• store bought aquarium 10 mm thick, completely glass with extra plywood bottom added, no brace

• STOP YOU HAVE NO IDEA WHAT YOUR DOING IN FACT

• Total voters

bianca hlywa

Feeder Fish
Oct 25, 2017
Hi everybody!

So I am very new at all this and have never really made large aquariums before. But now I am wanting to build an aquarium that is 42 inches wide, 67 inches long and 10 inches high. I calculated that it will hold about 120 gallons of liquid (I am growing a bacteria, its not for fish). It is really important to me to not have a brace for the nature of the project.

I have seen online a lot of people talking about old aquariums holding 125 gallons and being made of 12mm glass, these old models don't have braces but apparently its fine because the glass is so thick. I figure I can use 12mm thick glass for walls ( so I do not need a brace) and have a plywood bottom (to save money) that would be 1.5 inch thick. That bottom would have a 1.5" by 1.5" frame sitting on top of it, with the glass sides held snuggly within the frame (picture of the frame and base, with the glass sitting inside is shown in the below two images). This method of attaching glass to wood is something I have picked up from the DIY king's youtube video on building a 500 gallon tank. The DIY king uses 10mm glass, but he has 3 inch braces lining the tops of the walls. If I went with this method, do you think I would need 12 mm thick glass to not have braces? Or do you think, considering my tank is significantly less large then his, I could get away with using 10 mm thick glass?

Screen Shot 2017-10-25 at 9.50.20 PM.png Screen Shot 2017-10-25 at 9.50.34 PM.png