Portible ac to cool tank?

broken

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Oct 6, 2009
Louisiana
I am setting up a 560gal tank in my garage and I am having unexpected tank temperatures of 90 degrees.
the stand that I am building for it will be more like a small room that will be 17ft x 4ft x 9ft that will include my 560gal and my 100gal tanks.
My thought is to insulate the inside of the stand instead of the tank and put a portible air conditioner inside of the stand to keep it cool but I have no experience with the portible type ac's.
Does anyone think this will work or know how loud they are?

OH yeah, the tanks will be totally inclosed in the stand accept for the front glass.

broken

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Oct 6, 2009
Louisiana
I do have a fan blowing across my 100gal and it seems to only drop the temperature 1 or 2 degrees but its just blowing hot air from my garage.
I do plan on trying that method first once my tanks are all boxed in and I am thinking it may help some but Im not sure it will be enough.

West1

Peacock Bass
MFK Member
Sep 27, 2007
How about a 24/7 water change with cold water?
DIY chiller with a mini fridge?
Frozen 2liter water bottles (u will probly need a ton though Lol)

If all tanks are connected to one system I'd try the DIY chiller

West1

Peacock Bass
MFK Member
Sep 27, 2007
How about a 24/7 water change with cold water?
DIY chiller with a mini fridge?
Frozen 2liter water bottles (u will probly need a ton though Lol)

If all tanks are connected to one system I'd try the DIY chiller

FishNCash

Goliath Tigerfish
MFK Member
Aug 1, 2009
Earth
My tank run at 95F in the summer and I never have a problem. In fact the fish semms to enjoy it. I just run a large powerhead to push as much bulb as possible. The easist way to cool your tank is to run a chiller build for salt tank instead of messing with a portable AC unit.

broken

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Oct 6, 2009
Louisiana
FishNCash;4294622; said: