Rookie Mistake - Help?

Heck

Gambusia
MFK Member
Mar 25, 2024
Sacramento, CA
I'm a novice level fishkeeper returning to the hobby after a 5 year hiatus. I've been lurking various forums while cycling a 55 gallon tank, and had decided to try for a community of small catfish, with S. Nigriventris being the only ones I really had my heart set on. Finally went to the LFS and picked up the two they had in stock, hoping to return later and get 4 more, while spending a little time figuring out what other oddball cats I could add.

Well, I got them home and settled, but I'm pretty sure they're Mystus Leucophasis.

I'd like to keep them, but I didn't even know they existed until today, and I'm reading some pretty conflicting things about them.

Can I keep them in a 55? Can I still have, say, 1-2 Pictus and 1-2 Raphaels with them? Should I just keep the 2 M.L.s by themselves? Get more of them?

I have a mixture of sand and gravel, some hiding spots, wood, leaves, and several sturdy plants.

I already like these little jerks and if I can keep them in the tank I have, I'm perfectly happy to change my plans (probably no S. Nigriventris in there after all!)

Now what?

Fishman Dave

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Nov 14, 2015
West Yorkshire
Post some pictures.
If you really do have mystus leucophasis then your best option is to return them (at some point).
These are great fish, in the right conditions. Although often quoted as smaller they can reach the best part of a foot in length for the female, slightly shorter for the male. Can be quite territorial both with other fish and their own kind.
Think you would be ok in a 55 for a year or so but then may find them getting too large and having too many issues - of course by then you may have decided to give them a 180. My pair share 1200ukg along with 8 featherfin and a number of other synodontis as well as some much larger cats.