Salute from Canada

Miky_Mike

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Dec 20, 2015
Hello everyone my name is Mike I'm new on MFK but not to the hobby . I wanted to stop by and talk a little bit about my passion. I have been keeping fish since I was 14 years old . I remember my first tank wich my mom had bought me, a 25gal with 2 angelfish some blue pebbles and cheap plastic plants . I was hooked, I used to look at it more then I would TV LOL. So time passed by I grew a little older and got a job at my local pet store ( nature pet center) BTW I still go there for almost all my suplly ! I worked there in the reptile section for a few months and finally got transfer in the fish section (salt water to be precise ) I learned from a good guy who loved fish . anyways I worked there 3 years . I kept lots of different fish over the years. At some times I had only 1small tank going I didn't really get so many fish until last year or so so lets talk about them.

Before we start I want to say that I do water changes biweekly about 40% and I use a marina master test kit and a pen style ph meter and tds meter from amazon all my parameter are good, some better then others but all is good . I also have a diy drip system in my 80 and my 29

1st setup

80gal predator grow out/show .
Going in a 180 next summer

1 polypterus ornatipinis
1 polypterys senegalus
1 datnoid Siamese tiger fish
1 peacock bass
1 Florida gar
1 tiger shovelnose
2 geophagus jurupari
1 sailfin pleco

Everybody is from 3 1/2 to 6 inch long .
It has a Sandy bottom mixed with small river pebbles some bigger rocks to create crevasses lots of driftwood some good quality silk plants and 3 reptiles caves that were sterilized before used .
For the light I have 2 30w t5 on for 7h
300w fluval heater
Filtration is
1 fluval U4
1 hydor 350 canister
Works very well for me since the extra bioload .

Let's talk feeding for a second
I feed all my fish multiple things