Should I be worried about these seals?

InfinityARch

Exodon
MFK Member
Apr 1, 2018
So a while ago I concluded a leak test of a 120 gallon tank I got secondhand, there weren't any leaks over the course of around 4 days. Because of preoccupation with work school/work (I'm a graduate student so they're kind of the same thing), I've kind of left the tank sitting dry for a while before actually getting all the plumbing assembled, and recently I noticed something odd looking about the seals, in the form of some silicone beads outside running along the bottom of the glass between the rim and the tank.

Can someone experienced with tank construction tell me whether what I'm seeing (in the pictures at least) is a potential problem, (ie an indication of an inner seam being extruded from water pressure and thus an indicator of an imminent seam failure) or something benign/normal?

Below is a picture that I took of the area of the seal that has me concerned.

IMG_0485.jpg

And here is a picture from inside the tank looking up at the bottom of the tank

IMG_0489.jpg

skjl47

Probation Member
Probation Member
MFK Member
May 16, 2011
Tennessee
Hello; I cannot actually tell from the pictures well enough to give a concrete answer but I will give an unsupported guess. Looks to me like someone ran a line of silicone over an existing seam. May or may not be a cause to worry and I may not be able to give a better opinion even if I were actually there.

I sort of have a rule of thumb on tanks bigger than 55 gallons. Having had a 55 gallon tank leak out on a wood floor over a basement that is about the biggest tank I will put on a floor where a leak can do damage. Even 55 gallons is plenty to cause damage.
I had a 125 let go in that same basement but no damage as it was on a slab with a floor drain.