Stocking a 55g planted tank

richard yung

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Jul 8, 2015
What do you guys think of the setup? Currently using an aqua clear 110 as filter.

It's 3 weeks in on cycling but I think it's done now cause I used an old sponge filter from my 180 and old filter media.

I want discus, anyone have any thoughts?

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

richard yung

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Jul 8, 2015
It looks like you have the Finnex stingray. With that light you should only Plant low light plants. Looks good to me.
thanks for the advice, in my tank i have 2x hair grass, 2x amazon swords, 1x spiralis, 1x java fern.

kevbc03

Piranha
MFK Member
Oct 12, 2008
Cleveland
I would go with 3 Discus, a school of 10-15 Cardinal Tetras, a school of 5 Corydora catfish, and 2 True Siamese Algae Eaters if it were my tank.
I'm not a discus expert, but wouldn't that setup be too stressful for the 3 discus? Especially in a 55 gallon?

convict360

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Dec 9, 2013
Scotland
I would remove the two pipe things at the front left, they make it look unnatural imo. The substrate contrast is cool

xxUnRaTeDxxRkOxx

Candiru
MFK Member
Jul 10, 2011
Denver, CO.
I'm not a discus expert, but wouldn't that setup be too stressful for the 3 discus? Especially in a 55 gallon?
Discus are a schooling species of Cichlid, a 55 gallon tank is a good setup for new Discus; This is because 90% of Discus owners get them as juveniles which would make sense for a 55 gallon tank. Discus only tend to reach 6" max in size in home aquaria, which leads back to my earlier comment.

You can actually fit 4 fully grown 6" adult Discus in a 55 gallon tank, and the only stress that's normally created to Discus in a non agressive tank are water changes, re-arranging the tank, and during spawning.

"I would go with 3 Discus, a school of 10-15 Cardinal Tetras, a school of 5 Corydora catfish, and 2 True Siamese Algae Eaters if it were my tank."