Stocking for 90G South American Aquarium

raja26

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Nov 11, 2023
India
Hi everyone! This is Shubham from Kolkata, India. I am relatively new to the fish-keeping hobby and have only a couple of years of experience. I want to set up a 90-gallon (4' L, 2' H, 1.5' W) South American tank. I plan to use sand as substrate, a large piece of driftwood with some rocks, and Epiphyte plants attached to them. I'll be running a Hydor Professional 600/Fluval 407 canister filter with an Aquaclear 70 HOB.

I am considering the following stocking:

1. Albino Heckelii: 4 pieces (juveniles already growing in a smaller tank)
2. Tank-bred F1 Altum Angels: 4 pieces
3. Electric Blue Acara: 2 pieces
4. Denisoni Barb: 6 pieces

Now the questions are:

A. Am I at full capacity for 90G, or can I add a few Geophagus Sveni? If yes, should I keep only 2 Sveni or go for a larger group?

B. Are these fishes compatible? I have done a lot of research, but advice from experienced hobbyists will be very helpful.

C. Is the filtration sufficient, or should I add another Aquaclear 70 or something?

Thanks in advance. 😄

duanes

MFK Moderators
Staff member
MFK Member
Jun 7, 2007
Isla Taboga Panama via Milwaukee
One of the 1st and most important factors s to consider in combining these sensitive species, are your tap water parameters,
Both the heckelli and altum prefer soft, black water with pH between 4 to 7.
Both prefer water temps of around 80'F (27'C).
I find the Acarichthys will be fine when young, in a tank of that size, but as they mature, they need tanks in the 220gal and up range, or they start to intimidate into chronic stress diseases, like HITH and other bacterial maladies like bloat. As a single individual in your size tank, they should be fine, they usually aren't aggressive with other species.
I was warned by an Acarichthys expert about needing a larger tank size, at maturity as a species group, but thought I could manage them in a 150 gal, 6 ft tank.
I was wrong.