Tiger leach

Rtc/tsn

Redtail Catfish
MFK Member
Apr 22, 2021
Cincinnati
I plan on getting a couple of tiger leaches soon for my 3g tank I just set back up. I’m wondering if there’s anyone here with any experience in keeping these guys or any other type of leach. I’ve been able to find some basic information but nothing that goes too into detail on it. I’ll have a sand substrate with a forest of long driftwood to make it look like a bunch of dead fallen trees and will have an area for them to get out of the water on and will be making a custom plexiglass lid at the hardware store I worked at for a while.

Reactions: xenacanth9

Rtc/tsn

Redtail Catfish
MFK Member
Apr 22, 2021
Cincinnati
Currently looking for some good branch like driftwood for the tank, as soon as I get it scaped I’ll be ordering the leaches. I’m going to start out with just one and see how it goes from there.

Reactions: GolemGolem

FLA

Polypterus
MFK Member
Feb 1, 2017
I have no leach experience, but I did try diving beetles. They don't stay in the tank like you think. I kept finding them all around the house. I wouldn't do it again.

• Haha
Reactions: Rtc/tsn

jjohnwm

Sausage Finger Spam Slayer
MFK Member
Mar 29, 2019
Manitoba, Canada
I have no leach experience, but I did try diving beetles. They don't stay in the tank like you think. I kept finding them all around the house. I wouldn't do it again.
That's true of just about all aquatic insects.