Two ~16" Xingu, four 10"-16" Meta, and one unknown ~1' peacock bass in 4500 gal

thebiggerthebetter

Senior Curator
Staff member
MFK Member
Dec 31, 2009
Naples, FL, USA
I got four Rio Meta pbass from Wes in Aug 2015 and a bit later two Xingu pbass. They were about 2"-3" and have grown today to ~16" for the Xingu pair and 10"-16" for the Meta. I am a Cichla newbie and these were pretty much my first Cichla.

I wonder if I recall Wes' ID correctly and they can be confirmed.

I was given another pbass by Joe of Joefish Aquatics, Ft. Myers, FL about half a year ago at ~3". Joe thought it could have been caught in FL but we can't be sure at all. A customer brought it and one 6" temensis to Joe's LFS one day. His name is Nabaldashnik and I wonder what the species may be. It has grown very well and reached ~1' currently.

They all learned to take baitfish and pellets after having been fasted several days to a week from the get go.

Here are two videos of them in 4500 gal (the second video is focused only on the unknown pbass):

thebiggerthebetter

Senior Curator
Staff member
MFK Member
Dec 31, 2009
Naples, FL, USA
Thank you, mates, much! I appreciate the knowledge and what I believe are the compliments :)

So the Rio Meta pbass must be the orinocoense you mention, and the ones I bought, IIRC, as "Xingu pbass" from fugupuff fugupuff must be the azuls (which I suspected because azuls are rather hard to confuse with other pbass when they grow up a bit, right?).

The azuls were too far away in this video. I will post close-up videos of the azuls later then. Not that I doubt your expertise but for my learning and your potential pleasure.

What about the pbass ID in the second video?

Reactions: Tony A.

thebiggerthebetter

Senior Curator
Staff member
MFK Member
Dec 31, 2009
Naples, FL, USA
Here is another video that shows the azuls better, much closer but not quite a close-up yet. Will keep at it.

gangster

Arapaima
MFK Member
Apr 17, 2008
mountains