Want to Move the Tank Foward in a Different Way: Need Some Help Getting Started

SilverArowanaBoi

Peacock Bass
MFK Member
Sep 21, 2023
Houston, Texas
Hey y'all! I've been thinking a bit and I've decided I've been too focused on stocking my tank and ignoring the decor of the tank. I think its time I moved away from fish and moved on to improving the overall tank.

But...

I don't really know how to begin planning an aquascape. I know what kind I'm looking for (a natural scape, roughly based off an Amazonian scape with driftwood, aquatic plants and maybe smooth gray rocks), but I don't know how to begin setting it up. Could some kind folks give me some tips on how to begin?

Thx!

Reactions: Fishman Dave

jjohnwm

Sausage Finger Spam Slayer
MFK Member
Mar 29, 2019
Manitoba, Canada
I'm no artist, so probably not qualified to comment, but I have had a lot of tanks over a lot of years. I don't really have "display" tanks nowadays, but I still try to make the tanks I keep pleasant for me to look at; and that's the only opinion I care about: mine. Very few people actually see my tanks.

I'd suggest that if you are making a display tankscape, the first thing is to have something as a focal point; a nice piece of driftwood, an impressive rock, a commercially-purchased piece of decor, or an especially beautiful plant. Whatever you use, don't plop it right in the middle of the tank; that always looks goofy. A centrepiece needs to be a little bit off centre, maybe at the one third mark, to not look very artificial and forced. If your tank is much longer than it is tall, then maybe a main focal point and a secondary one would work better.

Symmetry is another thing to avoid. Tanks with plants, rocks, flower pots, etc. placed exactly the same way on both sides never look right.