Wertheimeria maculata behavior

CishFhip

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Jul 11, 2023
Hi guys,

Its my first time having a snoring catfish and i’m absolutely loving it but i having a lot of trouble learning its behavior especially when there is so little information out there so everyone’s help is appreciated!

There is a few things that i have learned and i want to confirm if they are true about them:

1. When they are hungry, the spots will get whiter and brighter

2. They cannot really see and heavily rely on their “whiskers” to sense what’s in front of them

3. They really do not come out of hiding until the sun sets?

4. Gentle but chonky fish

5. They swim pretty quick so they would require at least 6 ft tanks even for a 6 incher

I have problems feeding it personally, it does not come out no matter what i feed it, even at night. I often drop talapia fillets and i assume it has eaten them when im not looking. Another thing isthat it sometimes breathes very heavily when it realise that im watching it? Please! Any help would be appreciated! I do not want to torture these beautiful fish!

IMG_3900.jpeg

Yellowcat

Gold Tier VIP
MFK Member
Feb 17, 2010
SoCal