Wet and Dry VS Canister 300 gal

kwantz

Candiru
MFK Member
Nov 1, 2007
Ontario
Im a newbie, but I plan on making a 300 gallon tank.... Why is a wet and dry so much better than a canister filter like the FX5???

I really dont get how wet and drys even work,, or why they are so much better? they look like they take up so much more space.... Help would be appreciated...

pacu mom

Goliath Tigerfish
MFK Member
Jun 8, 2006
northern CA
Wet/dry filters can provide great biological filtration and so are especially good with larger tank systems. With large amounts of bio media and the aeration, the wet/dry filter houses massive amounts of beneficial bacteria. They are very simple in design, and a mechanical filtration component can be added to a wet/dry filter. Check out the DIY section. Canister filters are great at mechanical filtration, and bio media can be added to them for bio filtration. A canister filter doesn't have the capacity for the amount of biological filtration that a wet/dry filter could provide. A canister filter, with the right media can provide better mechanical filtration than the wet/dry.