Starter Chiclid Tank

PabloGiovanni

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 28, 2017
Phoenix
Hey Guys,
Pablo here so i just wanted to know a few things. First off I am a beginner Cichlid tank owner African/South American. I have a 60 gallon canvas tank w/AquaTop Canister Filter CF-400 UV, Fluval Q2 Air Pump, Split Fold Glass Top w/LED Lighting. Since I know absolutely nothing about Cichlids and this is my first Cichlid tank I thought I would share my aquarium with you guys and get some feedback and possible advice on maintaining a healthy and quality living for my pets. More about the community of fish I house:
4 Black Convicts (2 male adults 1 teen male 1 teen female (spawning)
3 Jack Dempsey (1 male adult 2 male teens)
2 Jewels (1 teen male 1 teen female)
4 Auratus ( all male preteen)
1 Peacock (male teen)
2 Peacock Eel (male)
1 Bala Shark (preteen)
Really looking for suggestions and open to all ideas on how to better or upgrade healthy enviornment for my pets. They all seem to get along besides the other 2 Bolivian Rams I had that got devoured by my big dempsey other than that I had 4 Red Parrots to die on me and 1 assorted to get die off honestly I think they were stressed and over ran. Pls let me know what yu guys think about this tank and ideas on improvement.

WP_20170215_09_37_23_Rich.jpg

Hendre

Bawitius
Staff member
MFK Member
Jan 14, 2016
South Africa
That tank is very fully stocked, You will need to cut down on a lot of that as they grow

tlindsey

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2011
Ohio
Welcome aboard ☺ I suggest not adding anymore fish and keep your eyes on the Auratus because they can be very aggressive. Personally I have learned to do research prior it will save you money and headaches.

DJRansome

Aimara
MFK Member
Mar 16, 2008
New Jersey
What are the dimensions of your 60G tank?

PabloGiovanni

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 28, 2017
Phoenix