40 Gallon FOWLR Stocking Advice?

TroyMIfishkeeper

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Dec 7, 2015
Troy, Michigan USA
I have no experience with urchins. But they can be handy for taking care of algae problems.

Chromis either blue or green or a mix. With these it's important to find a good source for healthy specimens there is a dismal survival rate on chromis but if they are in good condition when you get them they are usually long lived.

There are lots of goby species you will have to find something that appeals to you and then ask some specific questions. I like the fire goby because it stays up in the water column. But there are tons of species that will stay on the bottom and work your sand bed digging all the time.

You may also like some of the blenny species as well.

The starfish is another that you may want to add once your tank is better established.
Unless you are considering some of the sand sifting species. They can be useful in keeping the sand bed stirred up. I wouldn't add any of the linckia species until the tank has been up for a while. This is another species that is dependent on a healthy specimen to start with.
Thank you for all the advice. I'll have to do some shopping around soon... I'm gonna take it real slow moving forward with what I add. I'll probably post pictures sometime soon!

TroyMIfishkeeper

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Dec 7, 2015
Troy, Michigan USA
I have no experience with urchins. But they can be handy for taking care of algae problems.

Chromis either blue or green or a mix. With these it's important to find a good source for healthy specimens there is a dismal survival rate on chromis but if they are in good condition when you get them they are usually long lived.